Inaugural Ball 2013

An enthusiastic, sold-out crowd of over 1,200 Indian Americans, compatriots from India and their well-wishers celebrated the inauguration of President Barak Obama at the Indisapora Inaugural Ball on Saturday, January 19, 2013 at the Mandarin Oriental in Washington, D.C.

Political leaders and celebrities rubbed elbows with Indiaspora members and their guests to recognize the achievements of the 3 million strong Indian American community. While dining on exquisite cuisine prepared by Food Network chef Maneet Chauhan, guests partied until the midnight hour with entertainment from Red Baraat, The Mona Khan Company, Dan Nainan and Shankar Tucker.

Indiaspora would like to sincerely thank the Honorary Host Committee, Leadership Committee and Indiaspora Ambassadors who helped make the ball a tremendous success.

[iframe src=”” frameborder=”0″ scrolling=”no” width=”512″ height=”288″ ]

Leadership Committee

  • Tarun Das
  • Raj Goyle
  • Arun Kumar
  • Shekar Narasimhan
  • Rajan Navani
  • Neera Tanden
  • Jigar Shah
  • Sonal Shah

Indiaspora Ambassadors

  • Vikrum Aiyer
  • Vinoda Basnayake
  • Harin Contractor
  • Priya Dayananda
  • Mitul Desai
  • Praba Iyer
  • Nisha Jain
  • Sangeetha Lakshminarayanan
  • Parag Mehta
  • Bhavna Pandit
  • Gautam Raghavan
  • Amita Shukla
  • Anurag Varma

Honorary Host Committee

  • US Senator Mark Warner (D-VA)
  • Co-Chair, Senate Caucus on India and Indian Americans
  • US Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
  • Co-Chair, Senate Caucus on India and Indian Americans
  • US Representative Joe Crowley (D-NY)
  • Co-Chair, Congressional Caucus on India and Indian-Americans
  • US Representative Mike Honda (D-CA)
  • Chair Emeritus, Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus
  • US Representative John Carney (D-DE)
  • Governor of Delaware Jack Markell (D-DE)
  • Chairman of the National Governors Association
  • Governor of Maryland Martin O‘Malley (D-MD)
  • Governor of Massachusetts Deval Patrick (D-MA)
  • California Attorney General Kamala D. Harris
  • US Representative Ami Bera (D-CA)
  • US Representative Tulsi Gabbard (D-HI)
  • Mayor of Los Angeles Antonio Villaraigosa (D-CA)
  • US Ambassador Vinai Thummalapally